Configuring 7.3.6
Author Message
ShadowOfDeath Offline
Donator
*

Posts: 129
Threads: 9
Joined: 2012 Dec
#1
Configuring 7.3.6
How do you bloody do it?

It's completely different from the version I was using (7.1.X). Something about browser configuration? It just sits there doing bugger all (Endless "Connecting"), with very few options.

OK, it's working (Can you shut down the browser view and still have the client run? I hope so, because I don't fancy leaving my browser open for days at a time in some cases...).

I still can't unlock Advanced control (even if I close the application that shows the expert menu, clicking on Advanced just brings up expert view).

EDIT: Never mind, I manually configured it to use 8 threads. Apparently the default is to let the client choose, which decides "Yeah, let's use less than half the power we have access to!"

EDIT2: Also, I hear it improved browser and youtube playback over older clients? Bullshit, the 7.1.X was way smoother. Now I can't play a 720p youtube video with relative smoothness, it now acts like someone is sending me a steam message (which causes framerates to drop in the teens every time messages flash), even when no such message has been sent. So yeah, bit pissed. Wish I hadn't updated to the new version, even if the PPD might be slightly better. It isn't worth the loss in browser experience with GPU folding. Actually, it's worse than dropping the framerates to the teens now, it sometimes drops them to single digits (and that's 720p vids, I bet 1080p youtube would be even worse). *sighs*

All in all, I strongly dislike the new system right now.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=601868&t=212997&b=luna2]
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-10, 02:21:02 PM by ShadowOfDeath.)
2013-03-10, 01:42:38 PM
Find Reply
Luis_GT Offline
Mechanic Pony
*

Posts: 596
Threads: 8
Joined: 2012 Dec
#2
RE: Configuring 7.3.6
It's the completer opposite for me, it kept my original configuration as well, I can even play 1080P videos in both youtube and media player without any lag. Previously I experienced 1 to 5 minute freezes.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=623788&t=212997&b=rarity1]
2013-03-10, 05:58:59 PM
Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
#3
RE: Configuring 7.3.6
Why not just revert, then?
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
2013-03-10, 09:45:29 PM
Website Find Reply
ShadowOfDeath Offline
Donator
*

Posts: 129
Threads: 9
Joined: 2012 Dec
#4
RE: Configuring 7.3.6
(2013-03-10, 09:45:29 PM)hiigaran Wrote: Why not just revert, then?
Eh. I might end up doing so if I find the Youtube thing especially aggravating.

@Luis - What are you using? What are your CPU and GPU(s)?
[Image: sigimage.php?u=601868&t=212997&b=luna2]
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-10, 11:30:21 PM by ShadowOfDeath.)
2013-03-10, 11:29:33 PM
Find Reply
Luis_GT Offline
Mechanic Pony
*

Posts: 596
Threads: 8
Joined: 2012 Dec
#5
RE: Configuring 7.3.6
i7 3770 with a 670 and a 470. The interface changed a bit, but not to the extent that it was hard to configure.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=623788&t=212997&b=rarity1]
2013-03-11, 02:25:39 AM
Find Reply
Spazturtle Offline
Scootalover
*

Posts: 194
Threads: 3
Joined: 2012 Dec
#6
RE: Configuring 7.3.6
What setting is your slider on?
And in configure advanced what is the priority?
[Image: sigimage.php?u=601870&c1=4A2463&c2=F2AB5...62F89&bg=1]
2013-03-11, 02:55:08 AM
Find Reply
ShadowOfDeath Offline
Donator
*

Posts: 129
Threads: 9
Joined: 2012 Dec
#7
RE: Configuring 7.3.6
@Spazturtle - If you're talking to me, I've got lowest priority (of course), and Full. I've always needed to turn GPU folding off when watching proper videos (except some lower bitrate videos, and Youtube videos. Except now I have to turn it to 'medium' just to play 'HD' youtube videos now).
[Image: sigimage.php?u=601868&t=212997&b=luna2]
(This post was last modified: 2013-03-11, 10:32:05 AM by ShadowOfDeath.)
2013-03-11, 10:31:34 AM
Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
#8
RE: Configuring 7.3.6
Have you tried disabling hardware acceleration on Flash, yet? Remember, it's not the same as disabling it in your browser.
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
2013-03-11, 10:38:46 AM
Website Find Reply