Folding@Home Milestones
Author Message
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
The good servers can easily outperform GPUs with their bigadv work units, and unless I'm mistaken, they are better value in terms of performance and price, compared to the top end GPUs.

Although, I'm not sure about how workstation GPUs hold up against the other hardware.

EDIT: Note to self: Look into a custom 404 page with that Derpy image...
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
(This post was last modified: 2013-07-02, 03:45:29 AM by hiigaran.)
2013-07-02, 03:44:13 AM
Website Find Reply
Luis_GT Offline
Mechanic Pony
*

Posts: 596
Threads: 8
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
Well... I'm really diggin this Core 17 WU's... 85K PPD out of my 7950 is rather nice
[Image: sigimage.php?u=623788&t=212997&b=rarity1]
2013-07-02, 04:32:35 AM
Find Reply
RoBorg Offline
Virtual pony
*

Posts: 239
Threads: 17
Joined: 2013 May
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
(2013-07-02, 04:32:35 AM)Luis_GT Wrote: Well... I'm really diggin this Core 17 WU's... 85K PPD out of my 7950 is rather nice

Ugh I hate core 17 Flutterrage My PC is almost unusable while core 17 WUs are running. With core 16 I could have them folding (admittedly for less PPD) and use my PC normally. I'm seriously considering going back to core 16 for the competition...

When everything switches across to 17 I'll have to give up GPU folding completely (my PC doesn't stay on overnight >_> so setting it to Medium would basically be the same as no GPU folding).
2013-07-02, 05:05:09 AM
Website Find Reply
Sellyme Offline
Administrator
*

Posts: 407
Threads: 23
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
What GPU are you running? Also, are you running with a spare CPU core on smp? If you have an 8-core CPU you should be running smp:7 if you're running with Core 17 on NVIDIA.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=614439&c1=976aaf&c2=bab4a...&c5=976aaf]
2013-07-02, 05:19:13 AM
Website Find Reply
RoBorg Offline
Virtual pony
*

Posts: 239
Threads: 17
Joined: 2013 May
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
I have 2 ATI Radeon HD 6870s in crossfire. I do seem to have a spare core - the viewer says cpu: 7, but I think it set that itself.
This is on Windows 7 btw.
2013-07-02, 05:33:58 AM
Website Find Reply
Luis_GT Offline
Mechanic Pony
*

Posts: 596
Threads: 8
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
Disable crossfire and set the GPU's as 2 separate units, set the main one to core 16 if it alleviates lag, and set the other to receive Core 17
[Image: sigimage.php?u=623788&t=212997&b=rarity1]
2013-07-02, 05:36:28 AM
Find Reply
Sellyme Offline
Administrator
*

Posts: 407
Threads: 23
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
Yeah, disable Crossfire, you get about 15% more PPD with it disabled. That's also likely the cause of your performance issues.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=614439&c1=976aaf&c2=bab4a...&c5=976aaf]
2013-07-02, 05:37:53 AM
Website Find Reply
RoBorg Offline
Virtual pony
*

Posts: 239
Threads: 17
Joined: 2013 May
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
Wow, it's gone from crippled to slightly sluggish - thanks guys! Yay
2013-07-02, 05:55:49 AM
Website Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
Where abouts are you getting this sluggishness?
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
2013-07-02, 06:15:55 AM
Website Find Reply
RoBorg Offline
Virtual pony
*

Posts: 239
Threads: 17
Joined: 2013 May
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
Everything basically... scrolling a browser window, alt-tabbing, minimizing/maximizing.
Even typing is a bit delayed/slow, in here or notepad++.

One of my cards is running at 87 C - is that normal? The fan is only at 40% so I assume it knows what its limits are :S

Edit: Put the fans to manual @ 100% (although it only affected the hotter card?!) and the temp went down to 70 but it's still running slow.

I've got both on core17 at the moment btw.

Haven't rebooted since I turned off crossfire 'cause I'm in the middle of stuff, but I'll give that a go as soon as I can.
(This post was last modified: 2013-07-02, 07:01:51 AM by RoBorg.)
2013-07-02, 06:49:40 AM
Website Find Reply
Sellyme Offline
Administrator
*

Posts: 407
Threads: 23
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
87 degrees is a bit hotter than it should be, I'd recommend keeping the fans on 100%.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=614439&c1=976aaf&c2=bab4a...&c5=976aaf]
2013-07-02, 08:08:38 AM
Website Find Reply
Luis_GT Offline
Mechanic Pony
*

Posts: 596
Threads: 8
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
Those cards tend to run hot... my 7950 hovered around 79C while mining bitcoins... folding it stays a cool 69C though... apparently it's only using 95% of it's cycles to fold rather than 100% like when I mined
[Image: sigimage.php?u=623788&t=212997&b=rarity1]
2013-07-02, 08:19:45 AM
Find Reply
hiigaran Offline
Chief Bogan
*

Posts: 2,417
Threads: 134
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
(2013-07-02, 06:49:40 AM)RoBorg Wrote: Everything basically... scrolling a browser window, alt-tabbing, minimizing/maximizing.
Even typing is a bit delayed/slow, in here or notepad++.

One of my cards is running at 87 C - is that normal? The fan is only at 40% so I assume it knows what its limits are :S

Edit: Put the fans to manual @ 100% (although it only affected the hotter card?!) and the temp went down to 70 but it's still running slow.

Do you have Aero enabled? If not, enable it. These are the exact same symptoms of someone with it disabled.

And the temperatures won't affect your performance, unless they are excessive to the point of critical.
[Image: sigimage.php?FAHUser=hiigaran&FAHTeam=21...hangeling1]
2013-07-02, 08:31:21 AM
Website Find Reply
shadowbolt82 Offline
Donator
*

Posts: 76
Threads: 0
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
(2013-07-02, 01:41:32 AM)Spazturtle Wrote:
(2013-07-01, 11:50:49 PM)RoBorg Wrote: PinkiegaspRainbowhuh What kind of hardware do you top folders have?
[Image: mlfw5712-10898.gif]

The top three have multi-processor systems,
[/img]http://i.imgur.com/GyV7vVY.jpg[/img]

tiwake has his mounted on his wall, mine is in a case with water cooling and dunno about bronyracer's

tiwake has 64 cores and myself and bronyracer have 32 cores.

My setup,
[Image: main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_it...alNumber=1]

I would probably have it mounted on the wall if it was my system, but it was a joint venture with my cousin and he has it at his house. Saves me electricity costs though! Yay

I also have my 4.2ghz i7/560ti gaming pc, a 2p/8c 2.8ghz xeon system, and a 6c/12t 2.0ghz xeon server folding for me. My old $160 2p xeon server actually pulls the highest ppd for cpu slot after my bigadv server. It's a 1U rackserver and the fans were driving me insane so I had to move it downstairs, lol. Got it mainly for folding, but it's turned out to be a pretty good minecraft server too.
[Image: main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_it...alNumber=2]
[Image: sigimage.php?u=616938&t=212997&b=rarity1]
2013-07-02, 08:55:06 AM
Find Reply
Spazturtle Offline
Scootalover
*

Posts: 194
Threads: 3
Joined: 2012 Dec
RE: Folding@Home Milestones
If thats a SuperMicro board I will just point out that sockets 1 and 4 have the best power distribution. Socket 4 is the one closest to your MPA.
[Image: sigimage.php?u=601870&c1=4A2463&c2=F2AB5...62F89&bg=1]
2013-07-02, 08:58:11 AM
Find Reply